Top 10 Facts About Nitty Gritty Dirt Band


Nitty Gritty Dirt Band  is an American country rock group, which was founded in 1966. Here are some fun facts about this iconic band that you may not know:


1. The original members of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band included Jackson Browne and Chris Darrow.

2. Their first studio album, “Richochet” debuted in 1967 and featured a number of hit singles such as “Mr Bojangles,” “An Old Fashioned Love Song,” and “Rippin’ It Up.”

3. In 1971 they recorded one of their most successful albums titled “Uncle Charlie & His Dog Teddy,” which went to number one on the Billboard 200 chart.

4. In 1972, they released a cover of “Will the Circle Be Unbroken” which earned them two Grammys, for Best Country Performance and Best Country Instrumental.

5. The band has released over 30 albums and won numerous awards including CMA Awards and NARAS honors.

6. They have also been inducted into the Musicians Hall of Fame in Nashville, Tennessee.

7. Throughout their career, they have performed with Johnny Cash, John Prine, Willie Nelson and other iconic musicians at their shows.

8. The band headlined the legendary annual Telluride Bluegrass Festival in Colorado from 1975 to 1977.

9. In 2004 they collaborated with Jimmy Ibbotson and released the album Will the Circle Be Unbroken: Volume III.

10. They were among the first groups to have an all-digital recording in 1984.

Leave a Reply